This is a victory for all animals in the country as well as for the animal lovers. Those who abuse and neglect animals will now be treated like sex offenders as to where they will have to register like sex offenders do.
This new law is growing in popularity all across the country and we can all agree on this one. Many jurisdictions in the United States have started this new law that animal abusers will have to register and will be on a national animal offenders registry where they will be revealed, publicly to everyone who checks the registry.
Although it is gaining popularity, Tennessee is the only state to have started this law so far. However, cities like New York and Cook County, Illinois do have it as a law at a local level.
But, how long will the animal abusers be on the list and what type of information will be on there?
The registry in Tennessee is closely monitored by the TBI or the Tennessee of Bureau of Investigations and can either be accessed at the TBI or any country office locally. The information that will be visual to people checking this registry will include their name, offense, date-of-birth, their conviction date, and the expiration date.
For those who are first time animal abuse offenders will have to stay registered for at least two years. For any more offenses after the first one happens, they will get a five-year sentence to stay on the registry for every offense against an animal they make.
Although this may sound new to some people, the folks in Suffolk County were one of the first in the nation to start this animal offenders registry. Suffolk County Legislator Jon Cooper, the sponsor of the bill, had this to say about the animal offenders registry.
“We know there's a very strong correlation between animal abuse and domestic violence. Almost every serial killer starts out by torturing animals, so in a strange sense, we could end up protecting the lives of people.”
Not only will they be made to register, but animal abusers will also be made to pay a registration fee of $50. Those who are 18-years-old and older will also be made to show a recent photo ID and provide any other names they go by now and have ever gone by.
Those who do not register face up to one year in prison and up to a $1,000 fine.
What do you think of this registry for animal abusers?